Lady Antebellum’s New Video for “What I’m Leaving For” Is a Family Affair [Watch]

Lady Antebellum’s New Video for “What I’m Leaving For” Is a Family Affair [Watch]

Lady Antebellum is giving fans another sample of their upcoming eighth studio album, Ocean, with the release of new song, “What I’m Leaving For.”

Penned by Sam Ellis, Micah Premnath and Laura Veltz, “What I’m Leaving For” follows the release of four previous songs from the new album, including the title track and Top 15 lead single, “What If I Never Get Over You.”

“I wore out the demo for this song,” says Lady A’s Dave Haywood. “I immediately related to it. It’s so hard stepping away from your family the way we do, and that song is such a great, beautiful way of articulating what we’re out here doing this for—our families, and those that we love and the fans that love us, too. This song is a beautiful picture of that push and pull of our journey.”

Lady A’s new video for “What I’m Leaving For” features a number of “home movies” with the trio’s six kids.

Lady Antebellum will release Ocean on Nov. 15.

The 13-track offering, which was produced by first-time collaboration Dann Huff, features a number of top songwriters, including Ross Copperman, Chris DeStefano, Hillary Lindsey, busbee, Ryan Hurd, Laura Veltz, Corey Crowder and more. Lady A’s Hillary Scott, Dave Haywood and Charles Kelley had a hand in writing seven of the tracks. The album’s “The Thing That Wrecks You” features a collaboration with Little Big Town.

Watch the video for “What I’m Leaving For” below.

Ocean Track Listing & Songwriters

1. “What If I Never Get Over You” (Sam Ellis, Jon Green, Ryan Hurd, Laura Veltz)
2. “Pictures” (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Sarah Buxton, Corey Crowder)
3. “Crazy Love” (Charles Kelley, Nathan Chapman)
4. “You Can Do You” (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Corey Crowder, Jordan Schmidt)
5. “What I’m Leaving For” (Sam Ellis, Micah Premnath, Laura Veltz)
6. “Be Patient With My Love” (Charles Kelley, Dave Barnes, Ben West)
7. “Alright” (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Busbee, Justin Ebach)
8. “Let It Be Love” (Hillary Scott, Jordan Reynolds, Amy Wadge)
9. “On A Night Like This” (Dave Barnes)
10. “Boots” (Charles Kelley, Ross Copperman)
11. “The Thing That Wrecks You” feat. Little Big Town (Daniel Tashian, Tenille Townes, Kate York)
12. “Mansion” (Chris DeStefano, Hillary Lindsey, Josh Miller)
13. “Ocean” (Tofer Brown, Sarah Buxton, Abe Stoklasa)

photo by Tammie Arroyo,

Country News


  • Forecast
  • Currents
  • Planner