Hyatt Garners First Team All-America Honors from Walter Camp

Walter Camp All-America Teams

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee wide receiver Jalin Hyatt continued to rack up the honors on Thursday night, garnering Walter Camp First Team All-America recognition as announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.  

Hyatt was also named the winner of the Biletnikoff Award during the show, which annually recognizes college football’s most outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award.

ADVERTISINGThe junior wideout had a breakout season for the Volunteers, achieving the SEC receiving triple crown—leading the league in receptions (67), receiving yards (1,267) and receiving touchdowns (15). His 15 scores also lead the FBS, while his 1,267 yards rank fourth nationally and are 31 shy of tying the program record set by Robert Meachem in 2006. Hyatt was recently named a first-team All-SEC selection by the league’s coaches and the Associated Press, as well.

Hyatt is the first Tennessee player to earn first-team All-America honors at any position since defensive end Derek Barnett in 2016, who earned recognition from Walter Camp and the Associated Press that year. The Irmo, South Carolina, native is UT’s sixth first-team All-America wide receiver, joining the likes of Robert Meachem (2006), Carl Pickens (1991), Tim McGee (1985), Willie Gault (1982) and Larry Seivers (1975, 76).

Hyatt’s impressive season included five games with over 100 yards receiving – including four of his last seven games – and five games with multiple touchdown receptions. He became the first player in program history to ever record multiple touchdown catches in four straight games in a single season, doing so in a stretch of wins against LSU, Alabama, UT Martin and Kentucky. Hyatt’s legendary performance in the Vol’s victory over No. 3 Alabama will forever be etched in Tennessee football lore as he finished with six catches for 207 yards while setting a program record and tying the SEC record with five touchdown receptions.

This year marks the 133rd edition of the Walter Camp All-America team, the nation’s oldest college football All-America team. The teams were selected by the 131 FBS head coaches and sports information directors.

The full 2022 Walter Camp All-America teams can be found HERE and a complete list of Tennessee’s postseason honors can be seen below.

2022 Tennessee Football Postseason Honors

HC Josh Heupel
SEC Coach of the Year – AP

OC Alex Golesh
Frank Broyles Award Finalist

QB Hendon Hooker
Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Finalist
Maxwell Award Finalist
Manning Award Finalist
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Finalist
SEC Offensive Player of the Year – AP
All-SEC First Team – APCoaches

WR Jalin Hyatt
Biletnikoff Award Winner
All-America First Team – Walter Camp
All-SEC First Team – APCoaches 

TE Jacob Warren
2022 SEC Community Service Team

OL Darnell Wright
All-SEC First Team – APCoaches 

DE Byron Young
All-SEC First Team – Coaches
All-SEC Second Team – AP

-UT Athletics

KNOXVILLE, TN – November 12, 2022 – Wide receiver Jalin Hyatt #11 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between the Missouri Tigers and the Tennessee Volunteers at Neyland Stadium in Knoxville, TN. Photo By Andrew Ferguson/Tennessee Athletics


  • Forecast
  • Currents
  • Planner